Book Review - The Ghost of You and Me | Blushing Geek

Book Review – The Ghost of You and Me by Kelly Oram

The Ghost of You and Me by Kelly Oram | Blushing Geek

The Ghost of You and Me by Kelly Oram
Published June 20, 2017 by Bluefields
Genre: Young Adult, RomanceContemporary
311 pages
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased
Rating: 4.5 out of 5 stars
Add on Goodreads
Get it on Amazon: https://amzn.to/3sGdUcg

How do you tell someone who hates you and blames you for the death of his best friend that you miss him?

From the bestselling teen and young adult author of Cinder & Ella comes a new heart-wrenching romance sure to bring all the feels.

The tragic death of Spencer Schott unravels the lives of the two people he loved most—his girlfriend, Bailey, and his best friend, Wes. Secrets and guilt from that fateful night keep both Bailey and Wes from overcoming Spencer’s loss and moving on with their lives.

Now, nearly a year later, both Bailey and Wes are still so broken over what happened that Spencer can’t find peace in the afterlife. In order to put his soul to rest, he’s given one chance to come back and set things right…even if that means setting up his girlfriend with his best friend.

With the emotional resonance of Jellicoe Road and the magical realism of The Lovely Bones, The Ghost of You and Me is a story about overcoming grief, finding redemption for past mistakes, and the healing power of friendship and love. Fans of John Green, Sarah Dessen, and Nicholas Sparks are sure to love this haunting new tale from Kelly Oram.

This is a clean young adult romance stand alone novel that reads like contemporary drama romance and has just a touch of magical realism.

Review

It’s been almost a week since I’ve read this story but the emotions I’ve felt while reading this is still fresh in my memory. I’m used to Kelly Oram’s witty Young Adult Romances but this one is so beautiful yet so heartbreaking. Imagine losing someone you really love at such a young age, and it’s not just that, but you also feel responsible for his death. Tragic eh?

Another thing I like about this book is that the author added a little twist to this story making it more unforgettable than her other books. The character development was amazing too and I really enjoyed getting to know them and was also devastated when everything fell apart. I really feel for both the main characters and in what they’ve been through. I’m just so happy that they finally got the happy ending that they both deserved.

Although it may sound cliche, I really find the romance so cute. Well, I’m usually a fan of puppy romances anyway, *wink.

And the ending was really cute and hopeful for the both of them. After what they’ve been through, I can’t think of anything more sweeter than that. Two thumbs up for the author.

Favorite Line

Love is as individual as snowflakes. It’s all snow, but when you separate it and break it down, it’s unique. People are different, and you’re going to feel differently about each and every one. You’re going to love them differently. But just because it’s different doesn’t mean it’s not love. It doesn’t make it not real.

Book Preview

Check out my book shelf for book suggestions and recommendations!

BOOK SHELF: ROMANCE

Subscribe To Blushing Geek

Spread the love

8 Comments

  • Naomi Hop March 5, 2019 at 12:52 pm

    Gosh, I love these kinds of stories that tug on your emotions, even after a week! Sounds like a cute read that I’d enjoy!

    Reply
    • Vanessa April 6, 2019 at 8:34 pm

      Wow. You should definitely try it Naomi, I’m sure you’ll love it too 🙂

      Reply
  • Lily B March 16, 2019 at 3:09 am

    wow that sounds pretty tragic ): and like an emotionally charged read

    Reply
    • Vanessa April 6, 2019 at 8:34 pm

      Yes, it definitely was. But I’m so happy for the ending 😉

      Reply
  • Melissa (Books and Things) March 26, 2019 at 6:09 am

    I didn’t expect you to say it was cute! Now I’m curious. Thanks!

    Reply
    • Vanessa April 6, 2019 at 8:34 pm

      You’ve got to ready it Melissa, I’m sure you’ll love it too 🙂

      Reply
  • Naomi Hop June 17, 2019 at 12:37 pm

    Oh wow! I do love a book that can sit with you for a long time after you have finished reading it. The author must’ve been a good writer!

    Reply
    • Vanessa June 18, 2019 at 4:35 pm

      Yes, absolutely! Actually, Kelly Oram is one of my favorite authors hehe 😉

      Reply

Leave a Reply